Public Service Announcement (not campaign related)

Citizens, visitors, and fans of children enjoying their summer. I ask you for support for the Save Our Summer movement. The below bill is to allow our State government to give our children a full summer break between Memorial Day and Labor Day. This will add 3-4 weeks of summer vacation. A great opportunity for South Padre Island, OUR Island.

House Bill 233, the Labor Day to Memorial Day school year bill, is pending in House Public Education after a terrific hearing with much participation from the community and other interested stakeholders. Now is the time to reach out to members of House Public Education to ask them to vote the bill favorably out of the committee.

Please contact our City Council, State House Representative, Senator, and friends in other districts to do the same.


House Public Education

Rep. Dan Huberty, Chair (R-Houston) 512-463-0520 dan.huberty@house.texas.gov

Rep. Diego Bernal, Vice Chair (D-San Antonio) 512-463-0532 diego.bernal@house.texas.gov

Rep. Alma Allen (D-Houston) 512-463-0744 alma.allen@house.texas.gov

Rep. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio) 512-463-0686 steve.allison@house.texas.gov

Rep. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) 512-463-0508 trent.ashby@house.texas.gov

Rep. Keith Bell (R-Forney) 512-463-0458 keith.bell@house.texas.gov

Rep. Harold Dutton, Jr. (D-Houston) 512-463-0510 Harold.dutton@house.texas.gov

Rep. Mary Gonazalez (D-Clint) 512-463-0613 mary.gonzalez@house.texas.gov

Rep. Ken King (R-Canadian) 512-463-0736 ken.king@house.texas.gov

Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas) 512-463-0367 morgan.meyer@house.texas.gov

Rep. Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) 512-463-0356 scott.sanford@house.texas.gov

Rep. James Talarico (D-Round Rock) 512-463-0670 james.talarico@house.texas.gov

Rep. Gary VanDeaver (R-New Boston) 512-463-0692 gary.vandeaver@house.texas.gov

Senate Education

Sen. Larry Taylor, Chair (R-Friendswood) 512-463-0111 larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., Vice Chair (D-Brownsville) 512-463-0127 eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston) 512-463-0107 paul.bettencourt@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) 512-463-0125 donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Pat Fallon (R-Prosper) 512-463-0130 pat.fallon@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood) 512-463-0102 bob.hall@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) 512-463-0101 bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Angela Paxton (R-McKinney) 512-463-0108 angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Beverly Powell (D-Burleson) 512-463-0110 beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Kirk Watson (D-Austin) 512-463-0114 kirk.watson@senate.texas.gov

Sen. Royce West (D-Dallas) 512-463-0123 royce.west@senate.texa